Pancetta-Wrapped Peaches with Basil

by sassandbite

After careful consideration, I have come to the conclusion that peaches are the Gisele of the food world. 

IMG_9580They’re just so pretty and so photogenic and so universally appealing. Even if they’re not personally your thing, you can admit they’re unfairly blessed in the looks department and they really jazz up a picture. 

Food and Wine led me to this gorgeous use of peaches, which I made as a lovely appetizer on a random Wednesday last week. It’s been on my list forever and a day, but I had to wait for summer because peaches any other time of year are useless. Call me a snob, but it’s true. I went even more summery and tried grilling one wedge directly on the grill, but it was not ideal for getting the pancetta crispy — I might do it again in a grill pan. 

IMG_9560

Naturally, in my excitement I got ahead of myself and forgot to drizzle them with balsamic at the end, as in the original recipe. I’m sure it would have added some depth and contrast, but it was incredible even without it, so no harm done. My pancetta didn’t get quite as crispy as I think it could have, but again, it was still rad, and I will do better next time. The point is you really can’t go wrong with this one. 

IMG_9571

Pancetta-Wrapped Peaches with Basil (and Aged Balsamic if You’re Fancy/Focused)
via Food and Wine

16 slices pancetta

2 ripe peaches, pitted, halved, and cut into 8 wedges each

16 basil leaves

Salt and pepper (I prefer coarse salt such as kosher, and coarse pepper)

1 tablespoon olive oil (I just sprayed the pan lightly with olive oil because the pancetta creates more than enough of its own)

Aged balsamic vinegar

 

Lay slices of pancetta on a cutting board or other work surface. Place a peach wedge and basil leaf at the end and season with salt and fresh pepper; roll up to enclose the wedge. 

Heat oil in a medium skillet. Add half the wedges and cook over medium heat, turning occasionally until pancetta is browned and crisp on all sides, about 5 minutes.

Transfer to a plate, drizzle with balsamic (if you remember), and serve warm. 

Gratuitous picture of peaches

Gratuitous picture of peaches

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

