Read This: “Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)”

by sassandbite

Mindy Kaling has been officially added to the list of people I want in my posse of hilarious, weird, scathingly witty group of best friends, which I will be forming as soon as Amy Poehler, Tina Fey and Jon Stewart return my calls.
3-572x863

You probably need something fun to read on the beach this summer, or possibly under the fluorescent lights of an office, if your life is like that. You should totally make this book it.  It’s part memoir, part humorous observation and opining. Mindy (we’re on a first-name basis) goes through her life, from a chubby daughter of immigrants who constantly just kind of doesn’t get it, through “growing up” stages like college and moving to New York and finding a big girl job, to working in Hollywood, which she describes as “my good friend who is also a little embarrassing”. Which basically sums up the style of this book: she’s honest even about things that kind of suck, but she’s cheerful about it — a trait that I very much admire.

She makes even the most mundane subjects funny, like the chapter about her time as a nanny, which is titled “Caring for the Young and Eating Their Food”. Could there be a more accurate way of describing babysitting? Probably not.

She’s a fan of listing: she details Best Friend Rules, which we all universally recognize, such as being allowed to borrow each other’s clothes but not before the owner has worn them once, as well as “Non-Traumatic Things That Have Made [Her] Cry” (preach, sistah-friend).

Even the chapter titles are entertaining. Just as a preview: “Don’t Peak in High School”, “Contributing Nothing at Saturday Night Live”, and “Revenge Fantasies While Jogging” (I thought I was the only one).

And finally, she repeatedly confirms what I have always known to be true, which is that Amy Poehler is the greatest person ever and is meant to be my best friend. I filled in that last part for myself by reading between the lines, but yeah. It’s true.

Read this. Right meow. You’ll love it.

