Coffee Ice Cream and a Dangerous New Precedent

by sassandbite

Oh my god you guys. I may have started something. This has the potential to end so, so badly.

For my waistline, and therefore any hope I have of ever convincing someone to date me (my looks are all I have).

Look what I have wrought

Look what I have wrought

I made motherfucking coffee ice cream. And it is nothing less than sensational. And that is why I have eaten nearly all of it in the less-than-a-week that it’s been in existence. My dad makes ice cream all the time, but this was my first attempt and I am extremely pleased with myself.

If you’re not a fan of coffee ice cream, then a) I’m deeply sorry for you, b) really? what the hell is wrong with you?, and c) are you sure? Cause I’m pretty sure even you would like this, you freak.

P1000861
This recipe originally comes from Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams at Home , which is apparently a huge deal in Ohio, and as distrustful as a I am toward anything that comes out of the Midwest, I have to give them, or at least Jeni, some credit here. The coffee flavor is rich and incredibly smooth, with almost chocolatey undertones; the texture is creamy without being too icy or frothy. If that makes any sense.

Unlike most custard-based ice creams, this one doesn’t use any egg yolks, so if you’re not into having extra whites lying around, it’s your lucky day. The source I got the recipe from had adapted the ratio of cream to whole milk and substituted agave nectar for corn syrup, which I think might have added some depth to the flavor. I recommend it. I also struggled (shocking, I know) when it came to draining the coffee grounds from the base because I had ground them too fine for the amount of cheesecloth I was using, so they stayed in there a few minutes longer than directions. If anything, it just intensified the flavor, which is all good. The whole thing was a bit more time-consuming than I thought it would be, but it was worth it.
If you don’t have an ice cream maker, get one. It will only make your life better.

Coffee Ice Cream
cookieandkate.com, adapted form Jeni’s Splendid Ice Cream at Home

Ingredients:

3 cups whole milk

1 tablespoon plus 2 teaspoons corn starch

3 tablespoons cream cheese, softened

1/8 teaspoon fine sea salt

1 cup heavy cream

3/4 cups turbinado (raw) sugar

3 tablespoons agave nectar

1/4 cup dark-roast coffee beans, coarsely ground

Directions:

In a small bowl, mix 2 tablespoons of the milk with the corn starch until smooth.

In a medium bowl, whisk the cream cheese and salt until very smooth.

Fill a large bowl with ice and water and set aside.

Combine the remaining milk with the cream, sugar, and agave in a 4-quart saucepan; bring the mixture to a slow boil over medium heat and boil for four minutes, stirring occasionally so it doesn’t stick to the bottom of the pot. Remove from heat, add coffee grounds, and let steep for five minutes.

Strain the mixture through a fine sieve lined with cheesecloth or a paint-straining bag (if it’s a large cheesecloth I would fold it so there are several layers so the coffee doesn’t leak through); squeeze the grounds in the cheesecloth to extract as much liquid as possible, and then discard.

Return to pot and gradually whisk in the corn starch slurry; bring to a boil and cook over medium-high heat, stirring with a plastic or rubber spatula, until slightly thickened — about 1 minute.

Remove from heat.

Gradually whisk the hot mixture into the cream cheese until smooth; pour everything into a gallon-ziplock bag, seal tightly, and submerge in the ice bath. Add more ice and let it stand 45 minutes or more (this recipe calls for 30 minutes, but longer is better: you want the base to be as cold as possible before putting it into the machine).

Pour the cold base into the ice cream maker and follow manufacturer’s instructions. When it’s done mixing, pour into a container and pack tightly, then freeze until hardened, about 4 hours.

P1000853

 

 

