Buttermilk Pancakes

by sassandbite

Going back to basics here. And not with Bisquick.

P1000809Pancakes are like donuts to me: they always seem like a great idea, but then I eat more than a few bites and instantly regret it because of the resulting sugar nausea and heavy feeling. BUT, I’m happy to say that this is not the case with these pancakes — they’re light and fluffy and perfect for a lazy Sunday morning.

P1000813 I even made a giant Mickey Mouse pancake with the leftover batter for my dog, cause I’m just that domestic and maternal. I always wanted Mickey Mouse pancakes as a kid (my best friend’s mom always made them for us), but my horrid and lazy parents refused. It’s a wonder I turned out as totally normal and well-adjusted as I did.

P1000818Funny story:  I initially forgot to add the dry ingredients to the wet and was super frustrated when the mixture of what was essentially butter and milk did not turn into a pancake but instead sizzled in a liquid mess on the skillet. I can neither confirm nor deny that it took me nearly three tries to figure this out. Who let me use a stove?

P1000824

My doggie waiting anxiously for her Mickey Mouse pancake. Except unlike hers, mine never came. . .

I also put blueberries in some of these, but they were eaten before they could be photographed.
By me. They were eaten by me.
Buttermilk Pancakes
via Tracey’s Culinary Adventures


2 cups buttermilk (Fun fact: if you’re not like my weirdo family and don’t have buttermilk just lying around, you can substitute regular milk with one tablespoon of lemon juice; just let it sit for about ten minutes)

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 tablespoons granulated sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 large egg

3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly

*blueberries, chocolate chips, whatever — optional

In a medium bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder and soda, and salt. In a large bowl, add the egg and melted butter to the milk and whisk to combine. Add dry ingredients to wet and whisk gently to combine; some lumps are ok.

Set skillet over medium heat and spray with cooking spray. Ladle batter into pan, and add blueberries or chocolate chips to the top. Cook until bubbles form on the surface and the edges have set, then flip and cook another 2 minutes or so, or until golden brown and cooked through.

Turn them into a Mickey Mouse shape if you’re a really cool and special person who wants to make a good impression and cares about joy in life.

