Chocolate-Covered Graham Cracker Ice Cream Sandwiches

by sassandbite

In the Definitive Ranking of Incredible Inventions that are Awesome, I’m going to put ice cream sandwiches somewhere near the top, right between the internet, chopsticks, and putting babies in animal costumes.

IMG_9871
If there is some sort of invention that makes photographing said ice cream sandwiches easier, I would rank that very highly as well. Because this is messy work. Ice cream melts really really fast, apparently. But only when sandwiched between graham crackers.
IMG_9868I dipped the corners of the graham crackers in chocolate, because first of all, chocolate improves most things involving ice cream and second of all, it just needed a little something extra. And it looks great, no? One caveat: if you’re not gonna go full chocolate, eat these immediately, because the cracker will get soft the longer it stays in the freezer on the ice cream.

IMG_9856I had to re-freeze these for several hours because they they were ridiculous. The point is that the crackers lost their texture, except for the parts covered in chocolate, which stayed nice and crunchy.

For the ice cream, I used Ben & Jerry’s Red Velvet Cake, which I actually don’t like very much on its own because it’s really sweet, but it benefits nicely from what is essentially a graham cracker crust and the less-sweet chocolate; Ben & Jerry’s Vanilla Caramel Fudge, which is sensational always; and the coffee ice cream I made a few weeks ago. Clearly I have great taste, but really you can’t go wrong with flavors here.  Get at this.

IMG_9870

Chocolate-Covered Graham Cracker Ice Cream Sandwiches

Ingredients:

Ice cream of your choice
Graham Crackers
Semi-sweet, dark or milk chocolate

Directions:

Line a cookie sheet or plate with wax paper.

We start by melting some chocolate (I used Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate chips): if you’re not fancy like me and don’t have a double broiler (peasant), you can just put an inch or so of water in a saucepan and put a glass mixing bowl filled with chocolate over it. The water shouldn’t touch the bowl at all, or the chocolate will seize. Heat the chocolate, stirring frequently, until it’s melted; turn off the flame.

Dip the corners, or the whole thing, of the cracker into the chocolate. Lay out on prepared sheet and place in fridge to cool. You can also put it in the freezer if you’re super impatient, not that I would know anything about that.

The rest I feel like I don’t have to explain: put ice cream between graham crackers. Consume. Repeat.

IMG_9849

