Spicy Black Bean Hummus: Your New Lip Venom

by sassandbite

I have this condition (self-diagnosed) where I’m immune to spicy things. Not even that I have an unusually high spicy tolerance; there are times I am unaware that a dish was intended to be spicy at all, when everyone else’s mouth is on fire. It’s possible I’ve burned off all my tastebuds with hot coffee. Or that I lost them in an unfortunate chili pepper incident I had as a child.

P1010007

Let that just serve as a preface to this. Some might say “warning”, but I say “preface”.  Anyway. One of my favorite snacks is carrots and cucumbers with Trader Joe’s roasted garlic hummus. It’s pretty fly. It’s just a little more extra than regular hummus.

But recently I decided to change things up. Thanks to my brother’s over-zealousness at the market (never send a teenage boy to do a woman’s job), I had a bunch of jalapeños lying around. And I remembered a spicy black bean hummus I’d once bought from the farmer’s market. And a great idea was born.

P1000991
I really don’t detect much spice in this when you’re actually eating it (but again, see the above disclaimer), but it does leave kind of an after-burn on your lips. Just some spicy tingling. If you’re into that Lip Venom shit that makes your lips all tingly and swollen and stuff, you could try this out instead. It’s cheaper, it tastes better, and it’s not filled with bee venom or vampire blood or whatever.

If not, just de-seed the jalapeño before you use it (I left some of them in), which will cut down on the heat, and you could also scale back the cayenne or red pepper, or add more tahini, which has a cooling effect. Whatever floats your boat.

P1010003
SPICY BLACK BEAN HUMMUS

Ingredients:
1/2 can of black beans

1/2 can chickpeas

1/2 medium-sized jalapeño, chopped

2 cloves garlic

1/8 tsp. crushed red pepper

1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper

1/4 tsp. coarse salt (I like sea salt)

1 tbl. tahini

juice of a lemon (a few squeezes is good)

drizzle of olive oil
Instructions:

Combine all ingredients in a food processor and mix until smooth. Stir halfway through to make sure everything gets evenly distributed.

Serve with vegetables, pita wedges, chips, on a sandwich or in a salad.

