Reese’s Pieces Oatmeal Cookies

by sassandbite

I just checked the bag to see if “Reese’s” called for an apostrophe or not. It does. Apparently Reese is possessive of his pieces.

In other news, I might be a nerd.

P1010048Anyway, isn’t this all autumnal and stuff?? Cause it’s finally getting brisk out. I said I had something in the oven. I was going to save it for next week . . . but I didn’t want to. So you’re welcome.

I had a mad craving for oatmeal cookies last week. But I didn’t feel like raisins, and chocolate chips seemed too. . . obvious. Too done. And then I remembered how badly I’d been jonesin’ for some Reese’s pieces, and a great idea was formed.

Side note: I have a friend who pronounces them “Rees-ees piec-ees”. I guess because she thinks Reese’s is prounounced Reesees, which apparently overrules the pronunciation of the word pieces? I don’t know, she’s weird. But we love her anyway.

Anyway, again. I didn’t have an oatmeal cookie recipe of my own, but I found this one on Smitten Kitchen. It was good; on it’s own I don’t think it would be my favorite — I think the dough needs a little more salt and some spice other than cinnamon in order to stand alone — but it worked well with the melty peanut butter-chocolate pieces because it didn’t compete too much.

P1010055
M
ine also came out darker and thinner, probably because I didn’t chill it as long as I should have cause I was in a rush. I got shit to do today. Also it’s possible I used dark brown sugar instead of light brown, because my family apparently doesn’t share the importance I place on the distinct shades of brown sugar so they don’t tell me when we’re out of things, and I didn’t feel like going back to the store. But it’s all good, it worked out.

So basically: up the salt, chill the dough for at least a couple of hours, and eat these warm.

REESE’S PIECES OATMEAL COOKIES
adapted from Smitten Kitchen

INGREDIENTS:

1 stick (1/2 cup) butter, softened

2/3 cups light brown sugar, packed

1 large egg

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

3/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp table salt (I used 1/2 tsp and I still thought it needed a touch more)

1 1/2 cups rolled oats

As many Reese’s Pieces as you can get in there after you’ve decimated half the bag while prepping the dough. I’m not saying that I speak from experience, but I do.

DIRECTIONS:

In a large bowl, cream together the butter, brown sugar, egg and vanilla until smooth (I used my arm and a spatula, but if you have a mixer I’d go for that).

In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt. Combine with the wet ingredients.

Add oats and Reese’s Pieces and stir in.

Either cover the bowl with plastic wrap, or form dough balls on a cookie sheet and cover that with plastic wrap, and chill at least a couple of hours in the fridge.

When you’re ready, preheat the oven to 350. Place cookies ~2 inches apart on a parchment-lined baking sheet and bake 10-12 minutes, rotating halfway through.

Take them out when the edges are golden and they still look a little bit undercooked in the center; this keeps them soft, because they continue to cook even on the sheet even after you’ve removed them from the oven.

Transfer to a cooling rack about 2 minutes after you take them out of the oven.

Enjoy!

