Ghetto Names According to Anonymous Internet People

by sassandbite

via Nameberry

via Nameberry

In a moment of boredom and technological frustration on Monday, I went on Nameberry. Because I am what is known in some circles as a name nerd. But that’s not the point here.

The point is that, having never been on this particular website before, but hearing it was a good one, I decided to see what they had to say about my name.

Most of the time it’s the same: Meghan, a derivative of the Gaelic Irish Maeghan, meaning “the mighty”,  20 different spellings, absurdly, disgustingly common for girls born in the early 90’s, etc., etc., etc.

But Nameberry had something else in store for me. Something surprising. Apparently, according to username “happysunshine” (there’s a ringing endorsement for credibility), my name falls under the category of “ghetto”.

What.

I can safely say that I did not see that coming. Although it does explain a lot about me.

I didn’t choose the ghetto life — the ghetto life chose me.

Apparently it also chose Tiffany, Eliana, Jackie, and Jillian. This is the most ridiculous list of ghetto names I’ve ever seen. It’s a ghetto list compiled by someone who’s only ever seen 90’s teen rom-coms and thinks that “ghetto” means “white girl from The Valley”.

And then, just thrown in for good measure, are Latrice and Deshawn. And I don’t know why, but I’m nearly positive that among ghetto names, Deshawn is easily identifiable as a 90’s one. Don’t ask me how I know this, I just sense it. Like Tiffany, Amber, Brittany, Jason and Trevor of the popular white kid group, it is the quintessential 90’s teen movie name for the token black guy.

Just please take a look at that list. It gets funnier every time.

