Curried Red Lentil Coconut Stew

by sassandbite

Its finally raining here! I am stoked.

IMG_0039

Here’s some potential rainy-day food for you. It’s pretty great. Warm, filling, curry-y, and a bright, pretty orange, with a nice zing from lime and cilantro. If you have some naan, which I regret to say I did not, you’re in business.

IMG_0054

I hope you know I’m tearing myself away from Jiro Dreams of Sushi to do this. Cause I’m an adult now and stuff. And I put others first.

Also it’s taken me like three hours to finish a one-hour movie because the phone won’t stop ringing and my car is apparently leaking oil or something. Details.

IMG_0044

CURRIED RED LENTIL COCONUT STEW
via Scaling Back

INGREDIENTS:
*I halved the recipe and it still made enough for several days’ lunches and some to freeze. The original amounts are below. 

2 cups red split lentils
1 onion, finely chopped
1 red bell pepper, roughly diced
1 fresh jalapeño (or serrano chili), finely chopped, including seeds
1 tablespoon fresh minced ginger
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1 tablespoon curry powder (or 1 tablespoon thai curry paste)
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
2 teaspoons salt (I used a little bit more, and it was sea salt)
1/3 cup tomato paste
7 cups water (I used half water, half chicken broth)
1 can unsweetened light coconut milk
1 15-ounce can of chickpeas
juice  of 1 lime
fresh cilantro and lime wedges for serving

DIRECTIONS: 

Heat some olive oil in a Dutch oven or large soup pot and add onion, pepper, and jalapeño; cook until softened and fragrant, about 5 minutes.

Add garlic, ginger, tomato paste, and other spices; cook 2-3 more minutes until everything is well-mixed and warmed.

Add water/broth, coconut milk, lentils and chickpeas. Cook uncovered for 25-30 minutes, until much of the liquid has cooked away and you’re left with a thick soup.

Add a squeeze of fresh lime juice, more salt if needed, and some chopped cilantro.

Enjoy!

