Breakfast Tacos

by sassandbite

IMG_0575

When I was little, I thought breakfast for dinner was the coolest thing in the world. Pancakes and omelettes when it’s dark out?! Whaaaat.  Like I’ve said, children have odd little brains and that is why they’re so amusing.

IMG_0581

Brunch has since replaced breakfast for dinner as my favorite meal, because I’m a classy adult now and stuff. And then I went and made this lunch/dinner for breakfast because I’m an innovator and I play by nobody’s rules but my own. Watch out.

breakfast taco 3

These look like you put some effort in but they’re secretly really fast to make. Next time I’m going to make my own tortillas though, because I’m a tortilla snob and the kind from the store are just not up to my standards. But the point is: you can eat this shiz for breakfast, lunch, dinner, midnight snack, 2:00pm hungover breakfast, whatever. Shine on, you crazy diamond.

BREAKFAST TACOS
inspired by Honestly Yum

INGREDIENTS
corn tortillas
eggs
avocado, sliced
handful cilantro, chopped
green onion, diced
Cotija, Monterey Jack, or Feta cheese, crumbled or diced
Tapatío or whatever hot sauce floats your boat
salt and pepper to taste

DIRECTIONS
Turn the stove on to low and warm and/or char the tortillas by placing them on the burner for a few seconds at a time, dragging them across the flame when you turn them over. Set aside on a plate and put them in an oven heated to 200 degrees, or cover with foil to keep warm.

Poach or lightly fry eggs.

Pile everything on top of the tortillas and go to town.

