Buttermilk Scones with Blackberry Jam

by sassandbite

buttermilk scones 1

I don’t know if you guys heard the news, but. . . a couple weekends ago here in L.A., it. . . rained. It rained pretty hard. A lot of people were pretty shaken up. It was a dark 72 hours. Both figuratively and literally.

buttermilk scones 2

I, however, had a great time. I didn’t leave the couch except to change the DVD, replenish my stack of magazines, or get more food.

I also made and consumed scones, which are a fantastic rainy day thing to eat. To be honest, my mother did most of the heavy lifting on this one while I was absorbed in Les Miserables . But I did stir for a while. And I helpfully ate several of the scones so that she wouldn’t be tempted to and ruin her girlish figure. I know, it was pretty selfless. But my mom has done a lot for me, so I like to help her out sometimes.

buttermilk scones 3

I enjoyed these with some of my neighbor’s prize-winning blackberry jam. How hokey and country-sounding does that sound? But actually, he’s won first place at the state and county fairs for several years, and this shit is truly sensational. The only thing that could improve upon this whole experience is if I’d had some clotted cream. But I’ve been told that you can’t have everything.

 

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/buttermilk-scones-recipe.htmlbuttermilk scones 4

 

 

BUTTERMILK SCONES
via Food Network
*These aren’t traditional tea scones really, but they’re good. If you don’t have buttermilk or don’t care to get it, you can substitute milk with a tablespoon of vinegar or lemon that you let stand for 10 minutes.

INGREDIENTS

3 cups flour
1/3 cup sugar
1 teaspoon salt
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter
1 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup currants (optional); raisins, chocolate, etc.
1 tablespoon heavy cream, for brushing

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 400.

In a large bowl, mix flour, sugar, salt, baking soda, and baking powder.

Cut in butter with your fingers or a pastry cutter until it forms a coarse meal.

Add buttermilk and mix until just combined; add currants.

Transfer dough to a floured surface and divide in two, rolling each into 3/4 in. thick rounds. Cut each into 8 wedges and place on a lightly greased baking sheet or silicone mat, separated slightly.

Brush the tops lightly with cream and bake 15 minutes, until golden brown. Serve warm.

 

 

 

